Do not forsake the assembling of ourselves together

24 And let us consider one another in order to stir up love and good works,
25 not forsaking the assembling of ourselves together, as is the manner of some, but exhorting one another, and so much the more as you see the Day approaching. 

Hebrews 10:24~25

“Not forsaking the assembling of ourselves together . . . ”  This is a verse that I’ve come back to again and again.  Sometimes when I’m not feeling “Good,” when I messed up somewhere along the way, I tend to hide from the problem.  Prayers become short and evasive . . . sometimes I don’t pray at all.  I tend to “forget” about reading the Bible, or become “too busy” to spend time with God.  When I mess up, I hide from it.  But every Sunday, whether I like it or not, I’ve got to go to church.  There can be no excuse for missing church, ever.  And now I’m learning to be thankful for that.  In many ways, church forces me to face my troubles, look over my problems.  I’m forced to come face to face with God, whether I like it or not.  That’s often when I find the strength (and the need) to face my problems, to look over my messed up life last week.  It is then that I repent.  Church is the time that I come close to God again after . . . avoiding Him for some time.  Of course, I don’t always (not even often) wait till Sundays to count my sins and transgressions.  I try hard to repent as soon as I realize my mistakes and failings.  But sometimes, sometimes I just don’t want to face it, you know?  I don’t want to see the truth; I don’t want to accept that I messed up again.  But even when that happens, I find strength again when I go to church.  After all, it’s pretty hard not to think about God when in church.  And when I do, how can I not fall to my knees with the knowledge of my sins, of how I have disappointed my Father once again? 

I need to go to church.  I need fellowship.  We are, after all, human.  We fall short of God’s glory, we mess up, we sin.  Sometimes we have the strength (and the sense) to pray, repent and ask for forgiveness.  But sometimes we don’t.  :( We need the support of fellow Christians, we need someone to walk this difficult, yet beautiful path with us.  Sometimes we just need a little time, a little push in the right direction.  That’s why we must “not [forsake] the assembling of ourselves together.” 

I thank the Lord for placing me in such a wonderful church.  I thank Him, for knowing my weakness, and preparing for it. 

Leave a Reply

